Oakland vs Portland State
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Oakland UniversityRochester Hills, MICompass Score: Good · Top 45%B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Portland State UniversityPortland, ORCompass Score: Good
At a glance
- Oakland has the higher graduation rate: 58% against 53% at Portland State.
- For families earning up to $30,000, Oakland has the lower price after aid: $4,422 a year, against $7,655 at Portland State.
- Median debt is lower at Portland State: $20,500, against $22,750 at Oakland.
Scores
Compass Score
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 45%
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 44%
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 44%
Value
AValue: Exceptional (grade A): the top 10% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 9%
AValue: Exceptional (grade A): the top 10% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 7%
The college
Category
National universities
National universities
Location
Rochester Hills, MI
Portland, OR
Setting
Suburb
City
Students
15,922
20,519
Sports
NCAA Division I · Horizon League
NCAA Division I · Big Sky Conference
Admission
Admission rate
88%
91%
Average SAT
1120
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
58%
53%
First-year retention
78%
76%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$58,612
$57,906
Median debt
$22,750
$20,500
Cost
Average price after aid
About $9,000
About $10,000
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
About $4,000
About $8,000
$30,001–$48,000
About $5,000
About $8,000
$48,001–$75,000
About $7,000
About $9,000
$75,001–$110,000
About $12,000
About $13,000
Over $110,000
About $19,000
About $19,000
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Industrial Engineering $102,222
- Electrical engineering $99,967
- Mechanical engineering $97,444
- Computer engineering $95,843
- Computing and information science $90,737
- Computer science $113,889
- Electrical engineering $101,905
- Mechanical engineering $94,223
- Physics $87,488
- Civil engineering $86,084
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.