Pacific Union vs Sterling
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Pacific Union CollegeAngwin, CACompass Score: Very good · Top 32%C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Sterling CollegeSterling, KSCompass Score: Solid
At a glance
- Pacific Union has the higher graduation rate: 58% against 41% at Sterling.
- For families earning up to $30,000, Sterling has the lower price after aid: $19,068 a year, against $41,008 at Pacific Union.
- Sterling has the lower average price after aid: $22,371 a year, against $41,008 at Pacific Union.
Scores
Compass Score
B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 32%
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
A-Academic Excellence: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 18%
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Regional colleges
Regional colleges
Location
Angwin, CA
Sterling, KS
Setting
Rural
Rural
Students
938
707
Sports
NAIA · California Pacific Conference
NAIA · Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
47%
48%
Average SAT
Not reported
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
58%
41%
First-year retention
89%
50%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$70,484
$45,846
Median debt
$27,500
$24,625
Cost
Average price after aid
$41,008
$22,371
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$41,008
$19,068
$30,001–$48,000
Not reported
$19,236
$48,001–$75,000
Not reported
$21,975
$75,001–$110,000
Not reported
$23,525
Over $110,000
Not reported
$26,602
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Nursing $140,542
- Public relations $77,121
- Business (general) $73,035
- Social work $61,514
- Kinesiology and exercise science $38,771
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.