Pfeiffer vs Southern Wesleyan
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Pfeiffer UniversityMisenheimer, NCCompass Score: SolidB-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Southern Wesleyan UniversityCentral, SCCompass Score: Good
At a glance
- Southern Wesleyan has the higher graduation rate: 52% against 35% at Pfeiffer.
- For families earning $48,001 to $75,000, Southern Wesleyan has the lower price after aid: $14,230 a year, against $16,941 at Pfeiffer.
- Southern Wesleyan has the lower average price after aid: $15,464 a year, against $19,076 at Pfeiffer.
Scores
Compass Score
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 49%
Value
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
BValue: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional universities
Location
Misenheimer, NC
Central, SC
Setting
Rural
Suburb
Students
954
1,188
Sports
NCAA Division III · USA South Athletic Conference
NCAA Division II · Conference Carolinas
Admission
Admission rate
96%
100%
Average SAT
Not reported
1140
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
22–28
Outcomes
Graduation rate
35%
52%
First-year retention
72%
69%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$51,562
$47,756
Median debt
$26,163
$26,000
Cost
Average price after aid
$19,076
$15,464
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$16,167
$14,084
$30,001–$48,000
$14,758
$14,218
$48,001–$75,000
$16,941
$14,230
$75,001–$110,000
$20,005
$14,899
Over $110,000
$24,513
$17,381
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Nursing $75,033
- Business administration $60,936
- Criminal justice $50,798
- Kinesiology and exercise science $46,322
- Business administration $62,278
- Criminology $52,534
- Biology $47,882
- Human services $47,528
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.