College Compass GuideTrue north for every college search.

Providence vs Sacred Heart

What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.

At a glance

  • Providence has the higher graduation rate: 86% against 73% at Sacred Heart.
  • For families earning $48,001 to $75,000, Providence has the lower price after aid: $25,296 a year, against $41,647 at Sacred Heart.
  • Sacred Heart has the lower average price after aid: $46,174 a year, against $48,523 at Providence.
Scores
Compass Score
ACompass Score: Exceptional (grade A): the top 10% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 9%
B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 28%
Academic Excellence
AAcademic Excellence: Exceptional (grade A): the top 10% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 5%
A-Academic Excellence: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 20%
Value
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Regional universities
National universities
Location
Providence, RI
Fairfield, CT
Setting
City
Suburb
Students
4,635
11,179
Sports
NCAA Division I · Big East Conference
NCAA Division I · Northeast Conference
Admission
Admission rate
51%
65%
Average SAT
1346
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
29–32
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
86%
73%
First-year retention
94%
83%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$87,054
$75,059
Median debt
$27,000
$25,000
Cost
Average price after aid
$48,523
$46,174
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$28,152
$38,691
$30,001–$48,000
$21,835
$40,517
$48,001–$75,000
$25,296
$41,647
$75,001–$110,000
$33,169
$46,348
Over $110,000
$56,699
$48,217
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
  1. Accounting $103,245
  2. Finance $103,021
  3. Economics $95,590
  4. Biology $93,757
  5. Mathematics $90,503
  1. Nursing $103,244
  2. Finance $94,733
  3. Computing and information science $93,209
  4. Accounting $91,777
  5. Economics $80,970

Compare with another college

Providence College · Sacred Heart University

The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.

0 school selectedCompare

What would it cost your family?

Pick your family’s yearly income. Each college then shows what families like yours paid on average after grants and scholarships (federal data).

Reach, Target or Likely?

Enter an SAT or ACT to sort every college in this search.

Will you get in?

Enter your SAT or ACT. We compare it with the middle range of students the college admitted.