Providence vs Stonehill
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
ACompass Score: Exceptional (grade A): the top 10% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.Providence CollegeProvidence, RICompass Score: Exceptional · Top 9%A-Compass Score: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.Stonehill CollegeEaston, MACompass Score: Excellent · Top 20%
At a glance
- Providence has the higher graduation rate: 86% against 76% at Stonehill.
- For families earning up to $30,000, Stonehill has the lower price after aid: $23,605 a year, against $28,152 at Providence.
- Stonehill has the lower average price after aid: $33,016 a year, against $48,523 at Providence.
Scores
Compass Score
ACompass Score: Exceptional (grade A): the top 10% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F. Top 9%
A-Compass Score: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F. Top 20%
Academic Excellence
AAcademic Excellence: Exceptional (grade A): the top 10% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F. Top 5%
A-Academic Excellence: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F. Top 13%
Value
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): the rest of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.
B-Value: Good (grade B-): the top 75% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.
The college
Category
Regional universities
Liberal arts colleges
Location
Providence, RI
Easton, MA
Setting
City
Suburb
Students
4,635
2,584
Sports
NCAA Division I · Big East Conference
NCAA Division I · Northeast Conference
Admission
Admission rate
51%
66%
Average SAT
1346
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
29–32
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
86%
76%
First-year retention
94%
84%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$87,054
$77,745
Median debt
$27,000
$25,000
Cost
Average price after aid
$48,523
$33,016
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$28,152
$23,605
$30,001–$48,000
$21,835
$25,053
$48,001–$75,000
$25,296
$26,357
$75,001–$110,000
$33,169
$31,059
Over $110,000
$56,699
$37,147
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Accounting $103,245
- Finance $103,021
- Economics $95,590
- Biology $93,757
- Mathematics $90,503
- Accounting $94,984
- Finance $93,693
- Economics $88,479
- Health administration $82,254
- Biology $81,361
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.