Randolph-Macon vs Washington & Jefferson
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Randolph-Macon CollegeAshland, VACompass Score: Very good · Top 35%B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Washington & Jefferson CollegeWashington, PACompass Score: Very good · Top 33%
At a glance
- For families earning $48,001 to $75,000, Washington & Jefferson has the lower price after aid: $18,975 a year, against $23,357 at Randolph-Macon.
- Washington & Jefferson has the lower average price after aid: $25,002 a year, against $27,866 at Randolph-Macon.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at Washington & Jefferson: $67,918, against $58,448 at Randolph-Macon.
Scores
Compass Score
B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 35%
B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 33%
Academic Excellence
A-Academic Excellence: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 19%
A-Academic Excellence: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 15%
Value
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
BValue: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Liberal arts colleges
Liberal arts colleges
Location
Ashland, VA
Washington, PA
Setting
Suburb
Suburb
Students
1,523
1,162
Sports
NCAA Division III · Old Dominion Athletic Conference
NCAA Division III · Presidents' Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
87%
81%
Average SAT
1095
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
21–27
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
70%
70%
First-year retention
84%
81%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$58,448
$67,918
Median debt
$27,000
$27,000
Cost
Average price after aid
$27,866
$25,002
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$16,601
$15,265
$30,001–$48,000
$20,983
$13,958
$48,001–$75,000
$23,357
$18,975
$75,001–$110,000
$26,303
$32,322
Over $110,000
$32,226
$29,655
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Business (general) $71,844
- Political science $71,111
- Communication studies $61,867
- Biology $58,821
- Natural resources and conservation $54,186
- Accounting $83,516
- Computing and information science $79,272
- Economics $72,305
- Business (general) $72,219
- Communication studies $68,066
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.