Regent vs South
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Regent UniversityVirginia Beach, VACompass Score: Very good · Top 33%C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.South CollegeKnoxville, TNCompass Score: Solid
At a glance
- Regent has the higher graduation rate: 57% against 42% at South.
- For families earning up to $30,000, South has the lower price after aid: $16,820 a year, against $20,064 at Regent.
- South has the lower average price after aid: $17,858 a year, against $19,923 at Regent.
Scores
Compass Score
B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 33%
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Academic Excellence: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
National universities
National universities
Location
Virginia Beach, VA
Knoxville, TN
Setting
City
City
Students
10,168
8,234
Sports
Not reported
Not reported
Admission
Admission rate
38%
Not reported
Average SAT
1153
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
19–26
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
57%
42%
First-year retention
75%
52%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$44,498
$36,642
Median debt
$24,534
$18,668
Cost
Average price after aid
$19,923
$17,858
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$20,064
$16,820
$30,001–$48,000
$19,327
$17,983
$48,001–$75,000
$17,806
$18,964
$75,001–$110,000
$19,148
$22,710
Over $110,000
$22,588
$23,053
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Human resources $61,752
- Public Policy Analysis $60,776
- Business administration $59,087
- Secondary education $50,123
- Pastoral counseling $49,799
- Nursing $77,096
- Allied health $55,361
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.