Roanoke vs Washington & Jefferson
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Roanoke CollegeSalem, VACompass Score: Very good · Top 33%B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Washington & Jefferson CollegeWashington, PACompass Score: Very good · Top 33%
At a glance
- Washington & Jefferson has the higher graduation rate: 70% against 67% at Roanoke.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at Washington & Jefferson: $67,918, against $58,047 at Roanoke.
Scores
Compass Score
B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 33%
B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 33%
Academic Excellence
B+Academic Excellence: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 23%
A-Academic Excellence: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 15%
Value
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
BValue: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Liberal arts colleges
Liberal arts colleges
Location
Salem, VA
Washington, PA
Setting
Suburb
Suburb
Students
1,835
1,162
Sports
NCAA Division III · Old Dominion Athletic Conference
NCAA Division III · Presidents' Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
83%
81%
Average SAT
1211
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
24–31
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
67%
70%
First-year retention
76%
81%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$58,047
$67,918
Median debt
$27,000
$27,000
Cost
Average price after aid
$24,503
$25,002
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$15,204
$15,265
$30,001–$48,000
$17,410
$13,958
$48,001–$75,000
$18,638
$18,975
$75,001–$110,000
$15,902
$32,322
Over $110,000
$30,087
$29,655
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Communication studies $76,198
- Political science $71,604
- Business administration $69,323
- Kinesiology and exercise science $65,112
- Sociology $59,580
- Accounting $83,516
- Computing and information science $79,272
- Economics $72,305
- Business (general) $72,219
- Communication studies $68,066
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.