Saint Michael's vs Washington & Jefferson
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Saint Michael's CollegeColchester, VTCompass Score: Very good · Top 24%B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Washington & Jefferson CollegeWashington, PACompass Score: Very good · Top 33%
At a glance
- Saint Michael's has the higher graduation rate: 73% against 70% at Washington & Jefferson.
- For families earning up to $30,000, Saint Michael's has the lower price after aid: $12,825 a year, against $15,265 at Washington & Jefferson.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at Washington & Jefferson: $67,918, against $61,317 at Saint Michael's.
Scores
Compass Score
B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 24%
B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 33%
Academic Excellence
A-Academic Excellence: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 16%
A-Academic Excellence: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 15%
Value
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
BValue: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Liberal arts colleges
Liberal arts colleges
Location
Colchester, VT
Washington, PA
Setting
Suburb
Suburb
Students
1,370
1,162
Sports
NCAA Division II · Northeast 10 Conference
NCAA Division III · Presidents' Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
85%
81%
Average SAT
1245
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
26–31
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
73%
70%
First-year retention
80%
81%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$61,317
$67,918
Median debt
$26,922
$27,000
Cost
Average price after aid
About $25,000
About $25,000
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
About $13,000
About $15,000
$30,001–$48,000
About $10,000
About $14,000
$48,001–$75,000
About $18,000
About $19,000
$75,001–$110,000
About $27,000
About $32,000
Over $110,000
About $35,000
About $30,000
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Economics $82,447
- Business administration $73,566
- Biology $64,203
- Romance languages $59,914
- Communication studies $59,313
- Accounting $83,516
- Computing and information science $79,272
- Economics $72,305
- Business (general) $72,219
- Communication studies $68,066
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.