Salem State vs Virginia State
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Salem State UniversitySalem, MACompass Score: GoodC+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Virginia State UniversityPetersburg, VACompass Score: Solid
At a glance
- Salem State has the higher graduation rate: 50% against 39% at Virginia State.
- For families earning $48,001 to $75,000, Salem State has the lower price after aid: $13,821 a year, against $19,463 at Virginia State.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at Salem State: $56,662, against $45,543 at Virginia State.
Scores
Compass Score
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 41%
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
B+Value: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 35%
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional universities
Location
Salem, MA
Petersburg, VA
Setting
Suburb
Suburb
Students
6,239
5,190
Sports
NCAA Division III · Massachusetts State College Athletic Association
NCAA Division II · Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association
Admission
Admission rate
96%
89%
Average SAT
Not reported
948
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
14–20
Outcomes
Graduation rate
50%
39%
First-year retention
75%
69%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$56,662
$45,543
Median debt
$25,000
$26,500
Cost
Average price after aid
$15,996
$15,840
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$10,516
$13,220
$30,001–$48,000
$13,870
$14,758
$48,001–$75,000
$13,821
$19,463
$75,001–$110,000
$17,590
$22,223
Over $110,000
$23,223
$25,508
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Nursing $95,550
- Computing and information science $92,380
- Chemistry $81,266
- Business administration $67,789
- Biology $67,551
- Computer Engineering Technologies/Technicians $89,702
- Mechanical engineering technology $80,902
- Management information systems $72,734
- Accounting $72,375
- Computing and information science $60,276
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.