San Jose State vs Weber State
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.San Jose State UniversitySan Jose, CACompass Score: Very good · Top 24%BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Weber State UniversityOgden, UTCompass Score: Good · Top 50%
At a glance
- San Jose State has the higher graduation rate: 69% against 46% at Weber State.
- Weber State has the lower average price after aid: $10,258 a year, against $13,760 at San Jose State.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at San Jose State: $78,988, against $56,287 at Weber State.
Scores
Compass Score
B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 24%
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 50%
Academic Excellence
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 38%
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
A+Value: Exceptional (grade A+): the top 3% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 2%
AValue: Exceptional (grade A): the top 10% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 4%
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional universities
Location
San Jose, CA
Ogden, UT
Setting
City
City
Students
36,062
30,536
Sports
NCAA Division I · Mountain West Conference
NCAA Division I · Big Sky Conference
Admission
Admission rate
85%
Not reported
Average SAT
Not reported
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
69%
46%
First-year retention
87%
67%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$78,988
$56,287
Median debt
$15,000
$15,113
Cost
Average price after aid
$13,760
$10,258
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$9,730
$7,796
$30,001–$48,000
$10,114
$8,300
$48,001–$75,000
$12,099
$10,157
$75,001–$110,000
$15,102
$12,596
Over $110,000
$22,862
$14,300
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
Not reported
- Computing and information science $116,453
- Construction Management $105,738
- Management information systems $104,748
- Computer science $100,157
- Electrical engineering $98,042
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.