Shaw vs Spring Hill
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Shaw UniversityRaleigh, NCCompass Score: SolidB-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Spring Hill CollegeMobile, ALCompass Score: Good
At a glance
- Spring Hill has the higher graduation rate: 52% against 22% at Shaw.
- Shaw has the lower average price after aid: $16,512 a year, against $20,449 at Spring Hill.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at Spring Hill: $51,500, against $34,409 at Shaw.
Scores
Compass Score
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
C+Academic Excellence: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 48%
Value
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Regional colleges
Regional colleges
Location
Raleigh, NC
Mobile, AL
Setting
City
City
Students
962
977
Sports
NCAA Division II · Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association
NCAA Division II · Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
80%
77%
Average SAT
Not reported
1120
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
17–29
Outcomes
Graduation rate
22%
52%
First-year retention
52%
70%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$34,409
$51,500
Median debt
$32,500
$27,000
Cost
Average price after aid
$16,512
$20,449
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$16,236
$15,598
$30,001–$48,000
$16,276
$20,141
$48,001–$75,000
$21,145
$22,317
$75,001–$110,000
Not reported
$20,642
Over $110,000
$24,966
$26,240
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Business administration $47,401
- Social work $46,981
- Kinesiology and exercise science $44,010
- Criminal justice $43,299
- Communication studies $28,545
- Nursing $72,755
- Business administration $69,108
- Sociology $56,160
- Health sciences $52,874
- Communication studies $49,227
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.