Sonoma State vs West Virginia State
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Sonoma State UniversityRohnert Park, CACompass Score: Good · Top 41%C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.West Virginia State UniversityInstitute, WVCompass Score: Solid
At a glance
- Sonoma State has the higher graduation rate: 58% against 39% at West Virginia State.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at Sonoma State: $65,986, against $40,492 at West Virginia State.
- Median debt is lower at Sonoma State: $16,705, against $23,338 at West Virginia State.
Scores
Compass Score
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 41%
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 39%
C+Academic Excellence: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
AValue: Exceptional (grade A): the top 10% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 4%
BValue: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 47%
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional universities
Location
Rohnert Park, CA
Institute, WV
Setting
Suburb
Suburb
Students
5,990
3,458
Sports
NCAA Division II · California Collegiate Athletic Association
NCAA Division II · Mountain East Conference
Admission
Admission rate
93%
96%
Average SAT
Not reported
955
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
15–20
Outcomes
Graduation rate
58%
39%
First-year retention
79%
57%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$65,986
$40,492
Median debt
$16,705
$23,338
Cost
Average price after aid
About $13,000
About $11,000
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
About $8,000
About $9,000
$30,001–$48,000
About $10,000
About $10,000
$48,001–$75,000
About $11,000
About $11,000
$75,001–$110,000
About $14,000
About $14,000
Over $110,000
About $21,000
About $17,000
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Nursing $143,886
- Electrical engineering $112,757
- Computer science $106,181
- Economics $83,668
- Business administration $75,887
- Business administration $50,169
- Criminal justice $50,063
- Liberal arts $47,026
- Kinesiology and exercise science $46,622
- Teacher education $43,924
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.