College Compass GuideTrue north for every college search.

South Carolina State vs SUNY at Fredonia

What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.

At a glance

  • SUNY at Fredonia has the higher graduation rate: 50% against 37% at South Carolina State.
  • For families earning up to $30,000, SUNY at Fredonia has the lower price after aid: $9,395 a year, against $16,846 at South Carolina State.
  • SUNY at Fredonia has the lower average price after aid: about $16,000 a year, against about $18,000 at South Carolina State.
Scores
Compass Score
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 44%
Academic Excellence
C+Academic Excellence: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B+Academic Excellence: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 32%
Value
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
BValue: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 36%
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional universities
Location
Orangeburg, SC
Fredonia, NY
Setting
Town
Town
Students
3,041
3,220
Sports
NCAA Division I · Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference
NCAA Division III · State University of New York Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
83%
78%
Average SAT
Not reported
1250
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
23–28
Outcomes
Graduation rate
37%
50%
First-year retention
56%
76%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$38,262
$54,247
Median debt
$31,000
$24,250
Cost
Average price after aid
About $18,000
About $16,000
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
About $17,000
About $9,000
$30,001–$48,000
About $17,000
About $11,000
$48,001–$75,000
About $20,000
About $16,000
$75,001–$110,000
About $23,000
About $16,000
Over $110,000
About $25,000
About $21,000
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
  1. Computing and information science $66,821
  2. Mechanical engineering technology $63,129
  3. Business administration $48,108
  4. Criminal justice $45,061
  5. Secondary education $41,075
  1. Computing and information science $88,991
  2. Information science $77,409
  3. Accounting $74,904
  4. Finance $61,231
  5. Public relations $58,820

Compare with another college

South Carolina State University · SUNY at Fredonia

The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.

0 school selectedCompare 0

What would it cost your family?

Pick your family’s yearly income. Each college then shows what families like yours paid on average after grants and scholarships (federal data).

Reach, Target or Likely?

Enter an SAT or ACT to sort every college in this search.

Will you get in?

Enter your SAT or ACT. We compare it with the middle range of students the college admitted.