Southern Oregon vs Virginia State
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Southern Oregon UniversityAshland, ORCompass Score: SolidC+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Virginia State UniversityPetersburg, VACompass Score: Solid
At a glance
- Southern Oregon has the higher graduation rate: 43% against 39% at Virginia State.
- For families earning $48,001 to $75,000, Southern Oregon has the lower price after aid: $15,813 a year, against $19,463 at Virginia State.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at Southern Oregon: $49,175, against $45,543 at Virginia State.
Scores
Compass Score
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
BValue: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 39%
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional universities
Location
Ashland, OR
Petersburg, VA
Setting
Suburb
Suburb
Students
5,371
5,190
Sports
NAIA · Cascade Collegiate Conference
NCAA Division II · Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association
Admission
Admission rate
89%
89%
Average SAT
Not reported
948
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
14–20
Outcomes
Graduation rate
43%
39%
First-year retention
68%
69%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$49,175
$45,543
Median debt
$20,332
$26,500
Cost
Average price after aid
About $17,000
About $16,000
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
About $12,000
About $13,000
$30,001–$48,000
About $12,000
About $15,000
$48,001–$75,000
About $16,000
About $19,000
$75,001–$110,000
About $22,000
About $22,000
Over $110,000
About $24,000
About $26,000
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Computing and information science $75,596
- Business administration $65,171
- Mathematics $64,748
- Biology $63,008
- Social sciences $61,526
- Computer Engineering Technologies/Technicians $89,702
- Mechanical engineering technology $80,902
- Management information systems $72,734
- Accounting $72,375
- Computing and information science $60,276
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.