SUNY at Purchase vs Virginia Wesleyan
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.SUNY at Purchase CollegePurchase, NYCompass Score: Very good · Top 24%C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Virginia Wesleyan UniversityVirginia Beach, VACompass Score: Solid
At a glance
- SUNY at Purchase has the higher graduation rate: 63% against 42% at Virginia Wesleyan.
- For families earning $48,001 to $75,000, Virginia Wesleyan has the lower price after aid: $15,967 a year, against $19,658 at SUNY at Purchase.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at Virginia Wesleyan: $50,074, against $45,092 at SUNY at Purchase.
Scores
Compass Score
B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 24%
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
A-Academic Excellence: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 18%
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Liberal arts colleges
Liberal arts colleges
Location
Purchase, NY
Virginia Beach, VA
Setting
Suburb
City
Students
3,229
1,711
Sports
NCAA Division III · Skyline Conference
NCAA Division III · Old Dominion Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
74%
73%
Average SAT
1312
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
27–30
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
63%
42%
First-year retention
80%
74%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$45,092
$50,074
Median debt
$21,067
$27,000
Cost
Average price after aid
About $19,000
About $20,000
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
About $12,000
About $14,000
$30,001–$48,000
About $15,000
About $17,000
$48,001–$75,000
About $20,000
About $16,000
$75,001–$110,000
About $21,000
About $23,000
Over $110,000
About $25,000
About $25,000
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Other mathematics and statistics $72,237
- Economics $63,207
- Biology $55,718
- Other visual and performing arts $53,100
- Sociology $53,042
- Business administration $63,159
- Interdisciplinary studies $53,272
- Criminal justice $52,247
- Psychology $43,511
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.