SUNY College at Potsdam vs Truman State
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.SUNY College at PotsdamPotsdam, NYCompass Score: GoodA-Compass Score: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Truman State UniversityKirksville, MOCompass Score: Excellent · Top 17%
At a glance
- Truman State has the higher graduation rate: 69% against 45% at SUNY College at Potsdam.
- For families earning up to $30,000, Truman State has the lower price after aid: $6,046 a year, against $8,623 at SUNY College at Potsdam.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at Truman State: $56,280, against $47,866 at SUNY College at Potsdam.
Scores
Compass Score
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
A-Compass Score: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 17%
Academic Excellence
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 36%
A-Academic Excellence: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 16%
Value
BValue: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 41%
A-Value: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 16%
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional universities
Location
Potsdam, NY
Kirksville, MO
Setting
Town
Town
Students
2,751
3,636
Sports
NCAA Division III · State University of New York Athletic Conference
NCAA Division II · Great Lakes Valley Conference
Admission
Admission rate
78%
84%
Average SAT
Not reported
1320
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
25–31
Outcomes
Graduation rate
45%
69%
First-year retention
78%
85%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$47,866
$56,280
Median debt
$24,250
$21,000
Cost
Average price after aid
$13,624
$12,780
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$8,623
$6,046
$30,001–$48,000
$8,684
$7,926
$48,001–$75,000
$14,524
$12,426
$75,001–$110,000
$15,513
$15,425
Over $110,000
$20,041
$17,220
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Geology and earth science $62,004
- Secondary education $57,949
- Business administration $57,066
- Teacher education $53,834
- Criminal justice $53,597
- Computing and information science $106,203
- Accounting $84,515
- Nursing $77,315
- Business administration $70,633
- Biology $61,647
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.