SUNY Oneonta vs Winona State
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.SUNY OneontaOneonta, NYCompass Score: Very good · Top 23%BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Winona State UniversityWinona, MNCompass Score: Good · Top 46%
At a glance
- SUNY Oneonta has the higher graduation rate: 69% against 57% at Winona State.
- For families earning $48,001 to $75,000, Winona State has the lower price after aid: $13,814 a year, against $19,189 at SUNY Oneonta.
- SUNY Oneonta admits 70% of applicants, and Winona State admits 75%.
Scores
Compass Score
B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 23%
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 46%
Academic Excellence
B+Academic Excellence: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 23%
B+Academic Excellence: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 35%
Value
B+Value: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 26%
B+Value: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 28%
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional universities
Location
Oneonta, NY
Winona, MN
Setting
Town
Town
Students
5,514
6,058
Sports
NCAA Division III · State University of New York Athletic Conference
NCAA Division II · Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference
Admission
Admission rate
70%
75%
Average SAT
1230
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
25–30
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
69%
57%
First-year retention
76%
79%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$60,386
$58,532
Median debt
$19,812
$21,500
Cost
Average price after aid
$19,158
$17,503
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$11,044
$10,224
$30,001–$48,000
$14,427
$11,792
$48,001–$75,000
$19,189
$13,814
$75,001–$110,000
$20,552
$17,871
Over $110,000
$25,382
$21,307
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Accounting $90,128
- Physics $80,041
- Mathematics $72,651
- Biology $71,874
- Managerial economics $70,986
- Materials Engineering $91,528
- Computer science $88,164
- Nursing $80,117
- Management information systems $76,708
- Finance $75,807
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.