Texas Southern vs Wright State
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Texas Southern UniversityHouston, TXCompass Score: SolidC+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Wright State UniversityDayton, OHCompass Score: Solid
At a glance
- Wright State has the higher graduation rate: 42% against 22% at Texas Southern.
- For families earning $48,001 to $75,000, Wright State has the lower price after aid: $14,501 a year, against $21,280 at Texas Southern.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at Wright State: $49,500, against $38,924 at Texas Southern.
Scores
Compass Score
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
C+Academic Excellence: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
BValue: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 41%
The college
Category
National universities
National universities
Location
Houston, TX
Dayton, OH
Setting
City
Suburb
Students
8,469
9,884
Sports
NCAA Division I · Southwestern Athletic Conference
NCAA Division I · Horizon League
Admission
Admission rate
97%
96%
Average SAT
914
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
15–19
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
22%
42%
First-year retention
66%
68%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$38,924
$49,500
Median debt
$29,000
$22,750
Cost
Average price after aid
About $17,000
About $15,000
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
About $16,000
About $12,000
$30,001–$48,000
About $21,000
About $12,000
$48,001–$75,000
About $21,000
About $15,000
$75,001–$110,000
About $23,000
About $19,000
Over $110,000
About $22,000
About $21,000
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Civil engineering $71,595
- Finance $70,201
- Interdisciplinary studies $62,728
- Accounting $59,386
- Kinesiology and exercise science $56,482
- Computer engineering $97,659
- Computing and information science $92,006
- Electrical engineering $89,391
- Management information systems $85,393
- Mechanical engineering $82,795
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.