College Compass GuideTrue north for every college search.

University of Dayton vs University of San Diego

What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.

At a glance

  • University of San Diego has the higher graduation rate: 84% against 80% at University of Dayton.
  • For families earning up to $30,000, University of San Diego has the lower price after aid: $15,586 a year, against $21,736 at University of Dayton.
  • Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at University of San Diego: $86,522, against $75,537 at University of Dayton.
Scores
Compass Score
A-Compass Score: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F. Top 12%
A-Compass Score: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F. Top 11%
Academic Excellence
A-Academic Excellence: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F. Top 12%
AAcademic Excellence: Exceptional (grade A): the top 10% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F. Top 7%
Value
BValue: Good (grade B): the top 55% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F. Top 49%
BValue: Good (grade B): the top 55% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.
The college
Category
National universities
National universities
Location
Dayton, OH
San Diego, CA
Setting
City
City
Students
11,304
9,110
Sports
NCAA Division I · Atlantic 10 Conference
NCAA Division I · West Coast Conference
Admission
Admission rate
65%
52%
Average SAT
1335
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
25–31
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
80%
84%
First-year retention
89%
91%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$75,537
$86,522
Median debt
$23,250
$22,940
Cost
Average price after aid
$29,533
$30,365
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$21,736
$15,586
$30,001–$48,000
$21,595
$17,441
$48,001–$75,000
$24,155
$19,557
$75,001–$110,000
$26,871
$27,012
Over $110,000
$33,731
$46,989
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
  1. Computer engineering $116,356
  2. Physiology and pathology $109,604
  3. Management information systems $107,354
  4. Computer science $102,468
  5. Chemical Engineering $97,184
  1. Computer science $149,847
  2. Electrical engineering $110,314
  3. Accounting $109,142
  4. Finance $93,099
  5. Mechanical engineering $91,848

Compare with another college

University of Dayton · University of San Diego

The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.

0 school selectedCompare

What would it cost your family?

Pick your family’s yearly income. Each college then shows what families like yours paid on average after grants and scholarships (federal data).

Reach, Target or Likely?

Enter an SAT or ACT to sort every college in this search.

Will you get in?

Enter your SAT or ACT. We compare it with the middle range of students the college admitted.