University of Providence vs Wheeling
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.University of ProvidenceGreat Falls, MTCompass Score: GoodC+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Wheeling UniversityWheeling, WVCompass Score: Solid
At a glance
- University of Providence has the higher graduation rate: 28% against 23% at Wheeling.
- For families earning up to $30,000, University of Providence has the lower price after aid: $14,257 a year, against $17,739 at Wheeling.
- University of Providence has the lower average price after aid: about $18,000 a year, against about $21,000 at Wheeling.
Scores
Compass Score
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Academic Excellence: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
BValue: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 41%
BValue: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 48%
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional universities
Location
Great Falls, MT
Wheeling, WV
Setting
City
City
Students
677
748
Sports
NAIA · Frontier Conference
NCAA Division II · Mountain East Conference
Admission
Admission rate
50%
63%
Average SAT
980
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
15–23
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
28%
23%
First-year retention
72%
54%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$48,296
$57,949
Median debt
$18,750
$25,125
Cost
Average price after aid
About $18,000
About $21,000
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
About $14,000
About $18,000
$30,001–$48,000
About $12,000
About $20,000
$48,001–$75,000
About $17,000
About $20,000
$75,001–$110,000
About $23,000
About $23,000
Over $110,000
About $21,000
About $23,000
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Nursing $119,206
- Business administration $48,103
- Business administration $66,949
- Psychology $45,395
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.