College Compass GuideTrue north for every college search.

Washington & Jefferson vs Westmont

What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.

At a glance

  • For families earning up to $30,000, Washington & Jefferson has the lower price after aid: $15,265 a year, against $20,899 at Westmont.
  • Washington & Jefferson has the lower average price after aid: about $25,000 a year, against about $29,000 at Westmont.
  • Median debt is lower at Westmont: $23,250, against $27,000 at Washington & Jefferson.
Scores
Compass Score
B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 33%
A-Compass Score: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 17%
Academic Excellence
A-Academic Excellence: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 15%
A-Academic Excellence: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 11%
Value
BValue: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Liberal arts colleges
Liberal arts colleges
Location
Washington, PA
Santa Barbara, CA
Setting
Suburb
Suburb
Students
1,162
1,310
Sports
NCAA Division III · Presidents' Athletic Conference
NCAA Division II · Pacific West Conference
Admission
Admission rate
81%
77%
Average SAT
Not reported
1328
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
25–32
Outcomes
Graduation rate
70%
70%
First-year retention
81%
85%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$67,918
$64,778
Median debt
$27,000
$23,250
Cost
Average price after aid
About $25,000
About $29,000
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
About $15,000
About $21,000
$30,001–$48,000
About $14,000
About $15,000
$48,001–$75,000
About $19,000
About $20,000
$75,001–$110,000
About $32,000
About $25,000
Over $110,000
About $30,000
About $38,000
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
  1. Accounting $83,516
  2. Computing and information science $79,272
  3. Economics $72,305
  4. Business (general) $72,219
  5. Communication studies $68,066
  1. Managerial economics $84,815
  2. Biology $75,889
  3. Communication studies $62,535
  4. Liberal arts $61,939
  5. English $58,459

Compare with another college

Washington & Jefferson College · Westmont College

The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.

0 school selectedCompare

What would it cost your family?

Pick your family’s yearly income. Each college then shows what families like yours paid on average after grants and scholarships (federal data).

Reach, Target or Likely?

Enter an SAT or ACT to sort every college in this search.

Will you get in?

Enter your SAT or ACT. We compare it with the middle range of students the college admitted.