Washington State vs West Virginia
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Washington State UniversityPullman, WACompass Score: Good · Top 40%BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.West Virginia UniversityMorgantown, WVCompass Score: Good · Top 37%
En resumen
- West Virginia tiene la tasa de graduación más alta: 65% frente a 61% en Washington State.
- Para familias que ganan entre $48,001 y $75,000, Washington State tiene el precio más bajo después de la ayuda: $11,519 al año, frente a $14,179 en West Virginia.
- Las ganancias medianas diez años después de entrar son más altas en Washington State: $68,905, frente a $55,939 en West Virginia.
Scores
Compass Score
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 40%
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 37%
Academic Excellence
B+Academic Excellence: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 32%
B+Academic Excellence: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 35%
Value
AValue: Exceptional (grade A): the top 10% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 6%
B+Value: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 29%
The college
Category
National universities
National universities
Location
Pullman, WA
Morgantown, WV
Setting
Town
City
Students
26,490
24,200
Sports
NCAA Division I · Pacific-12 Conference
NCAA Division I · Big Twelve Conference
Admission
Admission rate
87%
89%
Average SAT
Not reported
1122
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
20–26
Outcomes
Graduation rate
61%
65%
First-year retention
78%
83%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$68,905
$55,939
Median debt
$19,500
$22,500
Cost
Average price after aid
About $15,000
About $16,000
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
About $7,000
About $9,000
$30,001–$48,000
About $9,000
About $13,000
$48,001–$75,000
About $12,000
About $14,000
$75,001–$110,000
About $18,000
About $19,000
Over $110,000
About $25,000
About $20,000
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Computer science $119,686
- Computer engineering $114,635
- Construction Management $107,531
- Electrical engineering $104,354
- Chemical Engineering $99,506
- Mining and Mineral Engineering $109,619
- Electrical engineering $99,542
- Industrial Engineering $99,180
- Computer engineering $99,048
- Computer science $98,277
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.