Covenant vs Simpson
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
A-Compass Score: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Covenant CollegeLookout Mountain, GACompass Score: Excellent · Top 18%C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Simpson UniversityRedding, CACompass Score: Solid
At a glance
- Covenant has the higher graduation rate: 71% against 49% at Simpson.
- For families earning up to $30,000, Covenant has the lower price after aid: $18,310 a year, against $25,511 at Simpson.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at Simpson: $54,340, against $50,412 at Covenant.
Scores
Compass Score
A-Compass Score: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 18%
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
A-Academic Excellence: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 17%
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Liberal arts colleges
Liberal arts colleges
Location
Lookout Mountain, GA
Redding, CA
Setting
Suburb
City
Students
928
907
Sports
NCAA Division III · Collegiate Conference of the South
NAIA · California Pacific Conference
Admission
Admission rate
87%
86%
Average SAT
1294
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
23–30
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
71%
49%
First-year retention
88%
60%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$50,412
$54,340
Median debt
$22,500
$18,750
Cost
Average price after aid
$26,265
$27,817
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$18,310
$25,511
$30,001–$48,000
$15,929
$22,738
$48,001–$75,000
$24,606
$28,479
$75,001–$110,000
$24,836
$29,656
Over $110,000
$30,172
$30,163
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Business (general) $75,186
- Economics $62,761
- General studies $44,909
- Teacher education $43,077
- Psychology $42,517
- Nursing $113,623
- Human resources $65,797
- Business administration $58,478
- Psychology $56,902
- Liberal arts $52,311
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.