CUNY York vs Northeastern Illinois
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.CUNY York CollegeJamaica, NYCompass Score: SolidC+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Northeastern Illinois UniversityChicago, ILCompass Score: Solid
At a glance
- CUNY York has the higher graduation rate: 32% against 22% at Northeastern Illinois.
- For families earning up to $30,000, CUNY York has the lower price after aid: $2,861 a year, against $13,709 at Northeastern Illinois.
- CUNY York has the lower average price after aid: $4,456 a year, against $14,109 at Northeastern Illinois.
Scores
Compass Score
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
C+Academic Excellence: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Academic Excellence: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
A+Value: Exceptional (grade A+): the top 3% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 2%
A-Value: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 13%
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional universities
Location
Jamaica, NY
Chicago, IL
Setting
City
City
Students
6,161
5,504
Sports
NCAA Division III · City University of New York Athletic Conference
Not reported
Admission
Admission rate
64%
75%
Average SAT
880
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
32%
22%
First-year retention
57%
52%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$56,945
$52,234
Median debt
$11,000
$14,600
Cost
Average price after aid
$4,456
$14,109
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$2,861
$13,709
$30,001–$48,000
$4,161
$12,824
$48,001–$75,000
$7,426
$15,077
$75,001–$110,000
$9,383
$20,464
Over $110,000
$12,520
$25,001
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Allied health $155,557
- Clinical laboratory science $122,313
- Nursing $112,147
- Rehabilitation and therapy $77,201
- Computer science $73,044
- Computer science $88,917
- Business administration $69,226
- Marketing $69,011
- Accounting $68,328
- Mathematics $66,269
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.