Massachusetts Maritime Academy vs SUNY Polytechnic Institute
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Massachusetts Maritime AcademyBuzzards Bay, MACompass Score: Very good · Top 22%BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.SUNY Polytechnic InstituteUtica, NYCompass Score: Good · Top 41%
At a glance
- Massachusetts Maritime Academy has the higher graduation rate: 74% against 55% at SUNY Polytechnic Institute.
- For families earning $48,001 to $75,000, Massachusetts Maritime Academy has the lower price after aid: $10,547 a year, against $13,934 at SUNY Polytechnic Institute.
- SUNY Polytechnic Institute has the lower average price after aid: $14,164 a year, against $21,582 at Massachusetts Maritime Academy.
Scores
Compass Score
B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 22%
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 41%
Academic Excellence
A-Academic Excellence: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 13%
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 41%
Value
B+Value: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 26%
AValue: Exceptional (grade A): the top 10% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 5%
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional universities
Location
Buzzards Bay, MA
Utica, NY
Setting
Suburb
Suburb
Students
1,362
2,704
Sports
NCAA Division III · Massachusetts State College Athletic Association
NCAA Division III · North Atlantic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
95%
81%
Average SAT
Not reported
1201
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
22–30
Outcomes
Graduation rate
74%
55%
First-year retention
87%
69%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$82,392
$64,355
Median debt
$25,000
$17,250
Cost
Average price after aid
$21,582
$14,164
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$8,757
$7,442
$30,001–$48,000
$9,051
$9,561
$48,001–$75,000
$10,547
$13,934
$75,001–$110,000
$15,557
$15,876
Over $110,000
$27,367
$20,613
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Systems Engineering $125,191
- Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering $125,016
- Marine Transportation $119,916
- Other engineering $104,007
- International business $89,094
- Nursing $108,014
- Mechanical engineering $87,788
- Computing and information science $85,180
- Electrical engineering $81,574
- Mechanical engineering technology $76,413
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.