Salem State vs Salisbury
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Salem State UniversitySalem, MACompass Score: GoodB+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Salisbury UniversitySalisbury, MDCompass Score: Very good · Top 25%
At a glance
- Salisbury has the higher graduation rate: 68% against 50% at Salem State.
- For families earning up to $30,000, Salisbury has the lower price after aid: $6,743 a year, against $10,516 at Salem State.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at Salisbury: $61,515, against $56,662 at Salem State.
Scores
Compass Score
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 25%
Academic Excellence
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 41%
B+Academic Excellence: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 26%
Value
B+Value: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 35%
B+Value: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 22%
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional universities
Location
Salem, MA
Salisbury, MD
Setting
Suburb
Suburb
Students
6,239
7,030
Sports
NCAA Division III · Massachusetts State College Athletic Association
NCAA Division III · Capital Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
96%
87%
Average SAT
Not reported
1252
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
20–29
Outcomes
Graduation rate
50%
68%
First-year retention
75%
78%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$56,662
$61,515
Median debt
$25,000
$21,000
Cost
Average price after aid
$15,996
$17,743
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$10,516
$6,743
$30,001–$48,000
$13,870
$9,915
$48,001–$75,000
$13,821
$12,909
$75,001–$110,000
$17,590
$16,669
Over $110,000
$23,223
$22,759
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Nursing $95,550
- Computing and information science $92,380
- Chemistry $81,266
- Business administration $67,789
- Biology $67,551
- Allied health $109,739
- Computing and information science $97,414
- Managerial economics $91,642
- Accounting $89,535
- Nursing $86,233
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.